37 Weeks, 3 Days.

30 Apr

Delinquent Blogger

Apparently what qualifies as good blog activity is one post a day. Har har. To say I am a delinquent blogger would be an understatement then.  My last post was to say I had a bun cooking in the oven. Today,  I have just bathed and fed a beautiful two-week old little girl.

She makes me want to write

She makes me want to write again. So I thought that the best way to kickstart this writing again would be to look back on the 37 weeks and 3 days of bun-baking.

Unfair pregnancy

I had what one might call an unfair pregnancy.  I had no morning (afternoon, evening) sickness at all. I didn’t retain water, didn’t get any stretch marks and gained only 15 pounds (thank you momma, for your genes.) Apparently, it has nothing to do with how well you behave, how healthy you eat and all that jazz. It all boils down to what your momma gave ya. 

I enjoyed my pregnancy, and managed to travel back to my second home, Indonesia.  Very quickly, I whipped out my unrusty  Bahasa (I love how language comes back when you go back to where you used it!) and enjoyed Jakarta, where I spent my formative years.  We also traveled to Yogyakarta, a quaint province of artisans and awesomeness. In my third trimester (28-29 weeks), I managed to climb up all the way to the peak of Borobudur with my favorite person in the world and great friends.

20120429-184849.jpg

Here I was, TRXing to help make the labor come faster

20120429-184827.jpg

And we were in the middle of moving houses in my 37th week! Here Zach catches me red handed with my toolbox, undoing some screws. Haha

20120429-184918.jpg

And I’m glad I still managed to pull of a surprise party for my husband (his first ever!), having all his best man-friends at Army Navy for brunch.

Minus the 17-hour bit, it wasn’t all that bad.

So we were in the middle of moving houses when just like in the movies, I hollered “Zach! My water broke!”

And just like in the movies, we grabbed bags, startled friends (Rember and Conrad were at the house, both couldn’t believe it was actually happening).

After a harrowing traffic-jammed trip to the hospital, I checked into the delivery room a little after lunch on Friday the 13th.

17 hours later, at 4:47 in the morning, finally, Malaya SyCip was born. (Normal delivery! Thank you, Doc!– Margarita Agdamag is an awesome OB-GYNE!)

She is such a wonderfully un-fussy baby. I feel ridiculously lucky. We’re enjoying every minute of this awesome new phase.

I will definitely try to keep this ball rolling this time.


Leave a Reply

